Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Ryan Costello

Representing the 6th District of Pennsylvania

Politico: GOP freshmen urge party to avoid shutdown

September 23, 2015
In The News

As published in Politico


Nearly a dozen House GOP freshmen are urging their colleagues to avoid a government shutdown next week and pass a short-term spending bill a week before federal agencies run out of money.


In a “Dear Colleague” letter, eleven new Republicans urged their fellow GOP lawmakers to pass a continuing resolution by Sept. 30 - and not hold any stopgap spending bill hostage over funding for Planned Parenthood.


The small group, part of the centrist Republican Main Street Partnership, is seeking to be a counter to the hardline House Freedom Caucus, whose members are pressuring leadership to defund the women’s health care organization, even if it means shuttering government agencies.


“[W]e are writing today to express our strong support for a funding resolution that will avoid another unnecessary and harmful government shutdown,” the letter obtained by POLITICO states. “[W]e were elected by our constituent’s to be principled, pragmatic leaders… The sixteen-day government shutdown in 2013 … not only hurt taxpayers with the loss of important government services — it actually cost more taxpayer money to close the federal government than to keep it open.”

Standard & Poor’s estimated that the 2013 shutdown cost the U.S. economy $24 billion.


The full centrist group actually comprises more than 65 Republicans, and a source familiar with the group speculated that most — if not all — of those members would likely back Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) on a “clean” CR without the Planned Parenthood rider.


The new members-only letter, however, was aimed specifically at debunking the notion that “young agitators” are pushing the House to the right, the source said.

Signatories include: Reps. Ryan Costello (Penn.), Elise Stefanik (N.Y.), Mimi Walters (Calif.), Daniel Donovan (N.Y.), John Katko (N.Y.), Carlos Curbelo (Fla.), Amata Radewagen (American Samoa), Cresent Hardy (N.V.), Bruce Poliquin (Maine), Martha McSally (Ariz.) and Tom MacArther (N.J.)


Read the Full Article Here.